Button

Monday, October 15, 2018

More About AWineryReview.com

H. Montanile's winery review is a comprehensive overview of California's wine country detailing the overall experience of visiting the California Wineries.  Our reviews include the wines generally available for tasting, as well as a wide variety of other wines.  With over 5000 wineries to choose from, let H. Montanile's winery review be your companion on your visit to the wineries in the Napa Valley and Sonoma County.


On our website, we feature some of the best wineries, lodging, activities, and dining in wine country. We love to pair food and wine with great recipes and we have an amazing online magazine!

If you're looking to buy wine, we are an affiliate of Wine.com. Click on any wine glass icon on our website to be redirected to Wine.com

At AWineryReview.com you can also view our blogs. We love to travel to wine country and share our experience with you in our "On The Road" blog. Our "At Home" blog is where you can find our recipes. 

Along with our blogs and website, we have numerous social media accounts. We would love to be friends on Facebook, follow each other on Twitter and Instagram, and have you subscribe to our YouTube channel!

To find out more about us, visit our website today!

Tuesday, October 9, 2018

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen - Sonoma County, CA

El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen - Sonoma County, CA

Hotel
"Nestled in the heart of Sonoma’s historic downtown square, El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen offers its guests a welcoming sanctuary. Conveniently located just steps from shops, wine tasting, and art galleries, this 27-room boutique hotel is cozy and well appointed. In addition to El Dorado Kitchen’s seasonal, farm-driven cuisine, you’ll enjoy an inviting fireplace bar and lounge, a relaxing solar-heated pool, and elegant guest rooms designed for comfort. Sophisticated and warm, El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen perfectly complements the ideal Sonoma wine country experience." 

Kitchen
"El Dorado Kitchen offers California-inspired cuisine with a focus on the freshest farm- and ranch-raised ingredients. Executive chef Armando Navarro's menu features simple, seasonal ingredients and imaginative choices that make the restaurant a favorite for locals and hotel guests alike. A robust wine list and excellent signature cocktails augment the relaxed-yet-refined Sonoma spirit. A polished aesthetic and casual ambience predominate, anchored by large windows with abundant natural light and a mix of rustic communal and smaller café-style tables throughout the indoor and outdoor spaces."

History
"El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen is housed in the landmark Salvador Vallejo building, built in 1843 for the brother of Sonoma Valley’s founder. One of the town’s most historic structures, this adobe building has been through various incarnations throughout the decades, including periods as a school, church, and wine-making facility. Thoughtfully redesigned and modernized for today’s guests, El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen is located just steps from Sonoma Plaza’s hip art galleries, world-class wine tasting rooms, and specialty boutiques.

On site, spacious guest rooms are designed with French doors, private balconies, and modern, complimentary amenities. Guests can dine at El Dorado Kitchen, enjoying fresh, seasonally sourced fare indoors or out. Visitors are encouraged to relax on cushioned chaises by our solar-heated pool or end the day curling up in an inviting fireplace lounge. Of course, anyone wishing to harken back to the past needn’t look further than the building’s courtyard, where they’ll glimpse the owner’s’ prized fig tree, aged over 150 years." - El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Monday, October 1, 2018

Pumpkin Picking in Wine Country

Yay! It's October! Time for warm, spicy wines, big, cozy sweaters, and EVERYTHING pumpkin! Carving, baking, and decorating pumpkins are some of the most loved fall traditions and we have just the places in wine country to find the best pumpkins!



ABC Tree Farms and Pick of the Patch Pumpkins - "ABC Tree Farms and Pick of the Patch Pumpkins are a family owned and operated business that began with a few retail lot locations in San Jose and Santa Clara back in 1983. Today, we have over 18 Pumpkin Patches and Christmas Tree retail lots throughout the San Francisco Bay Area and Southern California. This makes us one of the largest retail seasonal companies in California! Our pumpkins and Christmas trees are grown on our farms located in Northern Oregon and Southern Washington states and are trucked down to California freshly cut."

Petaluma Pumpkin Patch - "As the owner of Sonoma County’s most popular roadside attraction the Petaluma Pumpkin Patch and Amazing Corn Maze, Jim Groverman, the farmer who is the inspiration behind the Highway 101 corn maze, has been doing what Groverman calls “Agro-Tainment” long before the word “agritourism” became part of the farming industry and a way to survive in the farming today."

Santa Rosa Pumpkin Patch - "Get lost in Sonoma County’s largest corn maze! The Patch is family owned and offers a unique experience to the Northern Bay area. Our family looks forward to seeing you and your family this fall season. Our award-winning pumpkin patch offers 10 acres of pumpkins with 45 different varieties to choose from, a huge 8 acre corn maze (with both a short and long route) and a variety of activities, fun for the entire family! Learn more about our attractions. Book a field trip or birthday party."

Papa's Pumpkin Patch - "Over four decades ago, a group of forward-thinking farmers blazed trails in Sonoma County, creating a map & guide for local agriculture, inviting the public to meet their farmers and learn more about the origins of their food. These pioneers also produced the Gravenstein Apple Fair to celebrate the heirloom apple and Sonoma County’s rural traditions."

Monday, September 24, 2018

Wines to Drink in the Fall

Now that the Autumnal Equinox is here (Saturday, September 22nd, 2018 at 9:54PM EST) you may have shifted gears from the lazy days of summer to the crisp days of fall. With everything pumpkin spice quickly being snatched from the grocery store shelves and October just a week away, you can be sure everyone is getting into the autumn frame of mind.

Between the refreshing wines of summer and the warming wines of winter lies some delicious fall wines that are perfect for this time of year. 


SYRAH
Spicy and warm but still light enough to go perfectly with the weather.
"Syrah, also known as Shiraz, is a dark-skinned grape variety grown throughout the world and used primarily to produce red wine. In 1999, Syrah was found to be the offspring of two obscure grapes from southeastern France, Dureza and Mondeuse Blanche." - Wikipedia

BEAUJOLAIS
Light, with tasty berry flavors, and perfect to snuggle up with.
"Beaujolais is a French Appellation d'Origine Contrôlée wine generally made of the Gamay grape which has a thin skin and is low in tannins. Like most AOC wines they are not labeled varietally." - Wikipedia

UNOAKED CHARDONNAY
With rich vanilla flavors, unoaked Chardonnay keeps the smoothness for fall without the winter heaviness of oaked Chardonnay.
"Barrels are also credited with giving wine a richer texture, adding to the belief that oak adds complexity. An unoaked wine is more likely to be lighter-bodied than its oaked counterpart, with more fresh fruit flavors and less of any cedary, toasty, vanilla character." - Wikipedia

ROUSSANNE
Hinting of pear and honey, Roussanne fits in perfectly with falling leaves and warm fires.
"Roussanne is a white wine grape grown originally in the Rhône wine region in France, where it is often blended with Marsanne. It is the only other white variety, besides Marsanne, allowed in the northern Rhône appellations of Crozes-Hermitage AOC, Hermitage AOC and Saint-Joseph AOC." - Wikipedia

Monday, September 17, 2018

Wine.com Affiliate Reminder

We offer many suggestions on some of our favorite wines on our website AWineryReview.com. From sweet, fruity whites, to deep, bull-bodied reds, we love all wine and want to share the best of the best with you! 

We are an affiliate of Wine.com. Any wine that's listed on our website with a wine glass image next to it is available for purchase online and can be shipped directly to your location! 


Some of the reds that we recommend and are available at Wine.com include:
Belle Ambiance 2014 California ($10.00)
Bogle 2012 California ($12.00)
Duckhorn Decoy 2014 Sonoma Coast($22.99/NR)
Lander-Jenkins 2013 California ($15.00)
MacMurray Ranch 2014 Central Coast ($20.00)
Napa Cellars 2013 Napa Valley ($17.00)
The Pinot Project 2015 Sonoma, Monterey & Central Coast ($12.00/NR)

Some whites include:
Bonterra *Organically Grown 2015 (15.99)
Groth Sauvignon Blanc 2015 Napa ($20.00)
Liberated 2014 Sonoma ($17.00)
Pedroncelli 2014 Eastside Vineyards Dry Creek Valley ($14.98)
The White Knight 2014 Lodi ($12.00)

We're also big fans of Chardonnay, Rosè, and Sparkling wines which are also available for purchase at Wine.com.
Here are some of our favorites:
Auspicion 2015 California ($11.99)
Bonterra *Organically Grown 2015 Mendocino ($13.99)
Kendall-Jackson Grand Reserve 2015 Central Coast ($22.00)
Firestone Riesling 2014 Santa Ynez Valley ($12.99/NR)
A by Acacia Rose of Pinot Noir 2015 Napa ($11.99/NR)
Gloria Ferrer Sonoma Brut NV Sonoma ($22.00)
Mumm Napa Brut Rose NV Napa ($24.00)
Scharffenberger Brut Excellence NV Mendocino ($19.99)

Monday, September 10, 2018

Silverado Vineyards - Napa Valley, California

“The beginning of vine planting is like the beginning of mining for precious metals: the winegrower also ‘prospects’.” 
- Robert Louis Stevenson, 
The Silverado Squatters, 1880



"Whether you're a first time visitor or a seasoned wine lover, there's something unique at Silverado Vineyards. Perched atop a knoll in the esteemed Stags Leap district, our winery is blessed with some of the most breathtaking views of Napa Valley.

For more than three decades, the Miller family has been making wines from estate grown vineyards. "It all starts in the vineyards. This is simply spectacular wine growing property. Each one of the vineyards has its own distinct flavors and character" Winemaker Jon Emmerich- Silverado Vineyards welcomes you to enjoy what we love.

Our tasting room is open to the public 7 days/ week 10am-5pm. We offer tours by appointment. If you have a group larger than 6 please call us ahead of time so that we may offer you the same experience smaller groups enjoy. Check out our Single Vineyard Tasting: 5 Vineyard Designate wines paired with artisan cheeses and sweeping vineyard views. $45/person by appointment.

Our wines include many different veritials from 2 decades of vintages to tempt and please any taste buds. Cab Sauv, Cab Sauv Limited Reserve, Cab Sauv SOLO, Fantasia, Sangiovese, Zinfandel, Merlot, Chardonnay Vineburg, Chardonnay, and Sauv Blanc."

Visit Silverado Vineyards' website or their Facebook page for more information!

Monday, September 3, 2018

What Wine to Drink on Labor Day

Ahhhh... Labor Day. The end of summer. The beginning of fall. However you look at it, it's a transition period from the lazy, hot days of summer to the cool, cozy days of autumn. Some may dread autumn because it precedes winter but with it also comes some amazing things like pumpkin spice flavored everything, leather jacket season, beautiful foliage, and apple cider. On the other hand, it also marks the time to say good bye to sand in your toes, pools, and barbecue season.


Depending on your mood, which may vary, certain wines will fit Labor Day perfectly. If you're in the mood to hang on to summer a little longer sip on a delicious Sauvignon Blanc, Pinot Grigio, Riesling, Chardonnay, White Blend, Rosé, Red Blend, or Merlot.





If you're ready to transition to the brisk, colorful season of autumn then grab a glass of Viognier, Oaked Chardonnay, Soft Red Blend, Pinot Noir, Cabernet Franc, Merlot, or Sparkling Wine.








If you're anxiously awaiting winter, with it's sparkling lights, frosty days, and cozy nights, a bottle of these wines would be perfect: Malbec, Syrah, Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon, or Bordeaux Blend.





Whatever your mood, wine is the perfect addition to your Labor Day festivities. Here's what's in our cellar.

Monday, August 27, 2018

Shout Out to our Advertisers

"Karissa Van Tassel is an award-winning photographer based in Connecticut. She focuses her lens on authentic moments, meaningful interactions, and natural beauty. Her work can be found in private collections around the world, as well as in numerous publications, including The New York Times, CNN, National Geographic, Forbes, MSN, and Connecticut Cottages & Gardens. Most recently Van Tassel received five bronze awards for her portraiture. She lives in New Haven with her husband, Yale University professor Dr. Paul Van Tassel, and their three kids. In her free time she enjoys family time, travel, chocolate(!), and good glass of Bordeaux."

"For almost 30 years, Sally Scott and her team have been dedicated to providing professional interior design services to clients throughout New England.

Sally and her dedicated team have completed hundreds of projects, large and small, residential and commercial. Her ability to think conceptually and design practically, with any eye for details—including budget and timing—result in extraordinary interiors."

"At Maya J, we believe jewelry is a celebration of a woman's personal style, her intimate journey, and a representation of the special moments and people in her life. Named after the owner's spirited grand-daughter, this family owned and operated business is committed to creating jewelry of insurmountable quality. With thirty years of jewelry experience in NYC's Diamond District, every piece is hand crafted with extreme love and care.

We hope our jewelry brings you as much joy to wear as it gives us to make."

"Aquarium Backgrounds, Fish Tank Backgrounds & Terrarium Backgrounds for Any Size Tank
Our aquarium backgrounds are the highest quality backgrounds available.  High definition images printed at high resolution on professional, glossy, waterproof materials....beautiful, durable and custom sized for your aquarium. We cater to home fish tanks, office and professional aquarium customers providing the best product and customer service.  The perfect final touch to your fish tank, aquarium or terrarium and an investment in quality and beauty that will last for years."

"Weddings And Wonder is a shop specializing in custom wedding/party accessories. We feature everything from wine bottle labels to invitations, to seating charts and everything in between. We make completely custom designs and our graphic designer is willing to work with you to get exactly what you want. Not seeing anything you like? Send us a message and we'll create a one of a kind design just for you."

"Established in 2005, Skinny's Webworks is a professional business services company offering internet, marketing, media, social, graphics and advertising services. From website design to television commercials and e-commerce, our experienced group of creative and individuals excel in helping you take a business idea...and make it a profitable reality."

Monday, August 20, 2018

Our Favorite Sonoma County Wineries

"With more than 425 wineries, miles of rugged Pacific coastline, towering redwood forests, and its close proximity to San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge, Sonoma County is a traveler’s dream vacation spot in California. Sonoma County represents the best of Northern California — premium wine, farm-to-table dining, unique resorts and spas, and over 50 state and regional parks. Breathtaking Highway 1 delights visitors with crashing waves, sea lions and otters sunning on the beaches, and fantastic sunsets that color the sky in brilliant hues." - SonomaCounty.com


• Benziger 
"This family owned winery is warm and gracious. Cheerful staff eagerly pour the wines and makes you feel like a part of the family. The magnificent grounds include a series of old wood buildings. A beautiful barn, which doubles as the aging tasting room. Sit in the nymph garden, educate yourself at the discovery center, view the art in the gallery, stroll the many gardens or just have a picnic. Just for fun, have a tractor pull you on a tram throughout the vineyard and the winery. Save time for this winery, as there is so much to sip and see."

"Today, the Clines own many acres of vineyards throughout Sonoma County, with other properties in Oakley and Tehama County. Passionate about the importance of history, they own and have restored the nearby Dillon Beach Resort, the Mizpah Hotel and Tonopah Brewing Company in Tonopah, NV, and the Villa Laura in Tuscany. They also operate Green String Farm, a 150-acre working farm that produces a variety of fruits and vegetables grown on soil that is tended and nurtured without toxic chemicals. The produce from Green String is used by such culinary luminaries as Alice Waters of Chez Panisse. Their oldest son Ramsey operates the Mizpah Club, a casino and entertainment complex in Tonopah."

"Hawkes vineyard is located in Alexander Valley and is bordered by a forest of Douglas Firs and a tributary of the Russian River. While it is off the beaten path it is well worth the visit. Growing stunning Cabernets since 1972 you will be welcomed by a friendly and informative staff into a casual atmosphere with a beautiful and intimate tasting room. The Chardonnays are excellent too. There is a fantastic patio complete with Picnic Tables, which makes Hawkes wine and cheese pairings a delightful experience."

"Medlock Ames is known for their organic delicious Cabernets & Bordeaux Blends. The tasting room is lovely offering walk ins a fabulous tasting experience overlooking views of the beautiful gardens. Wine and Cheese pairings are a sumptuous treat not to be missed, requiring a reservation in advance. Parties of 6 or more must reserve their spot. To visit the Vineyard at Bell Howell Ranch and have a complete tour and wine tasting with food pairing call and reserve your spot, you will not be disappointed."

"Schug Carneros Estate Winery is situated on a 50-acre site in the Carneros Appellation, south-west of the town of Sonoma. Vineyards of Pinot Noir and Chardonnay surround the winery, while other grapes are bought in from highly respected and experienced growers."

Monday, August 13, 2018

Preparing Your Palate For Wine Tasting

Wine tasting is more than just gulping down one mouthful of wine after another. In order to get the full experience of wine tasting it's helpful to prepare your palate. This allows you the opportunity to really appreciate each wine's flavors and textures. Here are some tips on how you can prepare for your next wine tasting.


Before your tasting, try to avoid eating or drinking anything that has a strong flavor. Things like coffee, tobacco, and garlic can linger on your palate and change the taste of wine. Try to stick to weaker flavors before you taste so you can get the full flavor of the wine without the influence of other foods. Something you may not have thought about that also has a strong flavor is toothpaste, so try to avoid wine tasting directly after brushing your teeth.

Tasting before a meal is a good way to prepare your palate. Your taste buds are more receptive before you eat than after. However, keep in mind that if you taste on an empty stomach you will be more apt to feel the effects of the alcohol so eat before your tasting, but not directly before.

Be conscious of the order in which you taste your wines for the best experience. It may be beneficial to taste dry to sweet, as the sugar in sweet wines tends to stick to your palate and effect the taste of the dry wines. Heavy, tannic red wines can also tire out your palate quicker than sweet whites. 

Drinking water frequently while tasting can also help refresh your mouth and give you the best tasting experience. On top of the tasting benefit, drinking water will also keep you hydrated and help to counter the alcohol so you can taste more without a hindered perception.

Monday, August 6, 2018

Andrea's Hidden Cottage - Sonoma County, California

"Owned and operated by the Tommasi Family since 1996, our charming one bedroom cottage is hidden in our secluded, historic vineyard where natural beauty, peace and privacy are yours to enjoy for a romantic weekend getaway or summer long vacation. 

Andrea's Hidden Cottage is located on Spain Street next to the San Francisco Solano Mission. It is tucked away yet own steps from the historic Sonoma Plaza, the largest town square in California and home to many colorful wine country gift shops and award winning restaurants and tasting rooms. We invite you to enjoy a wonderful, romantic stay and a good night's rest at Andrea's Hidden Cottage in the Wine Country. Like a good cabernet sauvignon, our vacation cottage only gets better with age." - Andrea's Hidden Cottage

If you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing location to stay while you visit wine country, Andrea's Hidden Cottage is the perfect place! The private cottage offers a personal atmosphere where you can unwind and feel right at home. It still includes basic luxuries like a kitchenette, patio, private bath, and off street parking.


With affordable rates and a number of included amenities, call Andrea's Hidden Cottage today for a perfect wine country getaway!



Monday, July 30, 2018

Vèraison - What it Means

In a previous post we mentioned that grape vines go through the process of vèraison during mid to late summer. Vèraison is one of the most important processes a grape vine goes through during it's annual life cycle. It is when the grapes ripen and go from green to pink, purple, and red. During this time the grapes also sweeten. White grapes also go through this process; however, they turn more transparent instead of turning colors.


Starting in late July (northern hemisphere) or late January (southern hemisphere) the grape vine starts concentrating more on making sweet grapes. Once vèraison starts it takes about 30-70 days for the grapes to reach the point where they're ready to make wine. 

Before vèraison the grapes are hard, small, and acidic. They are high in chlorophyll which gives them their green color. They start to transfer their energy into the grapes instead of the vine when vèraison starts. Replacing the chlorophyll with anthocyanins in red grapes, carotenoids in white grapes, sugars, and other nutrients, the vines rapidly grow in size and begin to develop aromas. This is also when the acid levels fall and the sugar levels rise in the grapes until they are perfectly balanced.

Some varieties of grapes a prone to ripening unevenly causing some grapes on the bunch to be ripe and ready to harvest while other grapes on the same bunch are still green. This is called millerandage. This produces wines that smell sweet but taste "green," or unbalanced. Some wines that are made with uneven grapes include Pinot Noir, Sangiovese, Malbec, Gewürztraminer, and Zinfandel and are some of the hardest grapes to grow.

Monday, July 23, 2018

The Annual Lifecyle of Grape Vines

Grapes have a very unique and interesting annual life cycle. They start off growing in the spring, bloom throughout the summer, then become dormant in the winter. They are perennials so they naturally grow each year without having to be replanted; however, they require pruning to help maintain organization.

When a vine is first planted it is not expected to produce fruit right away. Actually, flower clusters that grow within the first couple years are generally cut off to allow the plant to put all of it's energy into the vine. This process produces strong root systems and overall better vines. It's not until around the vine's third year is when it becomes ready to produce quality grapes that are good for making wine. However, it could take up to 30 years for a vine to mature and be considered "old vines."

Winter - Each winter the vines are pruned to allow the strongest canes to grow the following spring.

Spring - During the spring, the buds begin to emerge. They are very fragile when they first sprout but they get stronger as they grow.

Did You Know?: Grapevine flowers are called "Perfect Flowers" because they don't need bees to pollinate. They pollinate themselves!

Summer - In the summer months the clusters that will eventually become berry bunches begin to appear.

Mid-Late Summer - Mid to late summer is when the berries begin to ripen. This is when vérasion (the onset of ripening) happens. During this time the vineyards are so beautiful as the grapes turn from green to pinks and purples. 

Note: During vérasion some pruners remove some of the green bunches to allow the nutrients to concentrate on the remaining grapes to make them stronger. This is called "Green Harvesting."

Fall - When fall arrives the vine wood has turned brown and hardened. At the same time the grapes are ripening and their sugar levels are rising. When they reach their sweet spot in the fall they are harvested. 

Did You Know?: Grapes do not continue to ripen after they are picked.

Late Fall - After the harvest and when the vines stop producing the leaves lose their color and fall off. When winter returns the vines are again pruned and the process starts all over.

Monday, July 16, 2018

Easy Way to Understand Tannins in White Vs. Red Wines

"Tannins are a class of astringent, polyphenolic biomolecules that bind to and precipitate proteins and various other organic compounds including amino acids and alkaloids." - Wikipedia

Tannin is a popular word in the wine industry and it may be a bit hard to understand at first. Red wines are generally higher in tannins than white and that's part of the reason the majority of red wines are dry instead of sweet.

Here is an easier explanation:

Have you ever peeled the skin off a grape? It has a flavor that strips the moisture from your mouth (it's dry). The reason for this is the tannins that are in the skin. Since red wines are produced with more contact with the grape skins, they absorb more of that dryness. Due to this extended time of contact with the skins, the wine is also transformed from clear to red in color.

Working as a natural antioxidant which protects the wine, tannins are a direct reason for certain red wines to be so age worthy (like Cabernet Sauvignon). They also have many health benefits!

Monday, July 9, 2018

Cosentino Winery - Napa Valley, California

"Delicious wines. Friendly staff. Charming place to gather.

Deeply rooted in California winemaking and ideally situated on the St. Helena Highway, Cosentino Winery is THE place to relax, sip and savor the distinctive varietals of Napa and Lodi. With nearly 40 years of experience crafting and sharing our wines, we are dedicated to creating experiences that leave a lasting impression.

Join us for a flight on our scenic sundrenched patio, drop-in for a tasting at our casual bar, or reserve a private experience in THE Lounge — with plenty of ways to enjoy Cosentino, we invite you to plan your trip today." - Cosentino Winery


Distinguished for their Bordeaux inspired blend, Cosentino Winery set the standard for wine making in Napa. Their dedication to quality wines over the last 35 years still stands strong and Marty Petersen (Vice President, Winemaking Operations, Vintage Wine Estates, Winemaker, Cosentino Winery) keeps that enthusiasm alive today. With a family history rich in farming, he has the knowledge and commitment to wine making that few others can compare to. Marty's skill is backed up by his proficiency on the cellar side of wine making through his education at Fresno State University where he earned his Bachelor of Sciences in Enology.

"Located at the “Gateway” to the Napa Valley, Cosentino’s tasting room and its ivy-covered façade is one of Napa Valley’s most recognized properties in the highly regarded appellation of Oakville.

Cosentino is ideal for a first or last stop or impulse visit when headed to Mustard’s Grill or photo opportunity by the landmark Napa Barrel sign.

In 2015, construction was completed on a beautiful new patio area with both a water and fire element. This allows guests to enjoy a comfortable seated outside area which is fairly rare for winery tasting rooms." - Cosentino Winery


Monday, July 2, 2018

Wine for the 4th of July

Raise your glass and toast America's birthday this week while celebrating the 4th of July! Wine is always the right choice for any occasion and Independence Day is no exception. Cookouts, pool parties, fireworks, and FOOD... wine is the perfect side for all of the above. Here are some wines we love to pair with 4th of July favorite foods:


Shrimp - Reisling goes perfectly with grilled shrimp as it's subtle-sweet flavor pops with the sweetness of the shrimp.

Burgers - Probably the most popular cookout option, burgers pair wonderfully with a Bordeaux blend. The slight smoky taste is great with most grilled items.

Hot Dogs - Often times, burgers and hot dogs go hand-in-hand. Therefore, they do pair well with a Bordeaux blend like the burgers, but a Cabernet is a spot on choice, too!

Chicken - Accompany your delicious grilled chicken with a sparkling wine. The bubbles from the wine really compliment the crispy skin.

Steak - If you're splurging for a steak on the grill this 4th of July, pair it with a delicious, traditional Zinfandel.

Happy 4th of July from AWineryReview.com!

Monday, June 25, 2018

Drinking Wine On A Boat - Without Spilling!

Now that summer is in full swing, you may be boating a lot. It's fun, relaxing, and the perfect activity to do to unwind and drink a glass of wine. However, it's a bumpy ride cruising around the water and your wine is way too precious to spill. Plastic or stemless glasses may help prevent spillage, but we have a couple other options that may be more appealing.


Since most stemware won't fit in cup holders, we love the idea of these wine glass cup holders. There are a variety of designs available and they all seem to work really well and generally have great reviews! These ones have three different attachments: The lawn stake is great for picnics, outdoor activities, and the beach. The strap attachment is perfect to connect to concert chairs and adjusts to many sizes of chairs and even deck railing. The suction base is what you would use on the boat or in the hot tub.
Available here.



Winning the Miami International Boat Show 2017 Innovation Award, these Anti-Spill Wine Glasses are quite impressive! The high quality crystal glasses has an integrated magnet that attracts to the stainless steel board to keep your glass from tipping over. The magnet is strong enough to keep your glass stable, but still allows you to easily pick up your glass.
Available here.


Now that there are a couple of options, there's no reason you can't drink your wine on the boat!

Monday, June 18, 2018

Celebrities Who Own Wineries

Who wouldn't want to own a winery? We sure would! With the wealth most celebrities have, it's no wonder a lot of them own their own wineries for personal and professional use. This trend is not a new one, though. Philosophers, playwrights, politicians, and other well-known people throughout ancient Greek and Roman times had owned their own wineries. Some reasons celebrities delve into the winery business include tax write-off benefits, their love of wine, the challenge of a new enterprise, or just because they can. Whatever their reasons, it's becoming more and more common lately. Celebrity wine sales have been up 19% in recent years, according to Nielsen research in 2007.






Here are some celebrities that own wineries:

• Mario Andretti - Andretti Winery in Napa Valley, California
• Dan Aykroyd - Dan Aykroyd Wines in Ontario, Canada
• Drew Barrymore - Carmel Road in Italy
• Jonathan Cain - delaCain Vineyards in Sonoma County, California
• Mike Ditka - Mike Ditka Wines in Mendocino County, California
• Guy Fieri - Hunt & Ryde Winery in Sonoma County, California
• Mick Fleetwood - Mick Fleetwood Private Cellar in Lake County, California
• Fergie - Ferguson Crest in Santa Ynez Valley, California
• Jeff Gordon - Jeff Gordon Wines in Napa Valley, California
• John Legend - Legend Vineyard Exclusive (LVE) in Napa Valley, California
• Kyle MacLachlan - Pursued by Bear Wine in Columbia Valley, Washington
• Madonna - Ciccone Vineyard and Winery in Leelanau Peninsula, Michigan
• Dan Marino - Vintage 13 Marino Estates in California
• Dave Matthews - Blenheim Vineyards in Charlottesville, Virginia
• Joe Montana - Montagia Wines in Napa Valley, California
• Sam Neill - Two Paddocks in Central Otago, South Island, New Zealand
• Olivia Newton-John - Koala Blue Wines in South Australia
• Arnold Palmer - Arnold Palmer Wines in California
• Nancy Pelosi - Zinfandel Lane Vineyard in St. Helena, California
• Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie - Chateau Miraval in Provence, France
• Sting - Tenuta il Palagio in Tuscany, Italy

Monday, June 11, 2018

Dry Creek Vineyard - Sonoma County, California

"Dry Creek Vineyard was the first new winery established in the Dry Creek Valley after Prohibition. It was David Stare’s vision to plant Sauvignon Blanc that firmly cemented the winery’s legacy as one of California’s most important wineries." - Dry Creek Vineyard


Located in Sonoma County, California, Dry Creek Vineyard was founded in 1972 by David S. Stare. Family owned and operated, the vineyard is now run by second generation family members, including David's daughter, Kim Stare Wallace and her husband Don Wallace. They take pride in their 185 acres of vineyards and strive to provide the best wines possible.

Featuring their insectary garden, beekeeping, and The Dry Creek Habitat Enhancement and Demonstration Project, they strive to provide a vineyard that is 100% Certified Sustainable. “Sustainability is not the destination – sustainability is the journey.  We are constantly adjusting our business practices as we improve our knowledge of how to better exist within nature.” –  Winery Partner Don Wallace

Dry Creek Vineyard also hosts a variety of events throughout the year including their Summer Zinfandel Dinner, Summer of Zin, and Sailing Adventure. Click here for a full list of their summer events.

Monday, June 4, 2018

Best California Wines for Summer

Memorial Day is a day to remember those fallen heroes who gave their life in the line of duty. It is also the official kick off to summer. With it being a week behind us, it's now the time to pick up those delicious summer wines from wine country. With the wide variety of wines available, you have a lot of choices. Some wines that you may have avoided in the past could be the perfect summer wine for you now. Turning away from oaky, buttery flavors, Chardonnays have become crisper and cleaner. Sauvignon Blanc has also improved by being created fuller and richer with less bland and grassy flavors. Rosé is still a top choice for summer wines, but now is more fruity and full.


Paul Hodgins (from the Orange County Register) has put together a list of his favorite 25 California wines for summer. Here is his list: (for full information, click here).

• Babcock 2015 Chardonnay Santa Rita Hills ($30)
• Cambria 2014 Clone 4 Chardonnay ($30)
• Chalk Hill 2015 Estate Bottled Sauvignon Blanc ($33)
• Cliff Lede 2016 Sauvignon Blanc ($25)
• Cline 2016 Ancient Vines Mourvèdre Rosé ($17)
• Donelan 2014 Nancie Chardonnay ($48)
• DuMol 2015 Lia Viognier ($50)
• Ehlers Estate 2016 Sauvignon Blanc ($32)
• Eos 2014 Central Coast Chardonnay ($14)
• Epoch Wines 2014 White ($35)
• Gundlach Bundschu 2015 Gewürztraminer ($23)
• J Brut Rosé NV ($28)
• J Dusi 2016 Pinot Grigio ($18)
• Joullian Vineyards 2016 Semillon ($25)
• Ken Brown 2015 Rita’s Crown Vineyard Chardonnay ($45)
• McIntyre Vineyards 2016 Rosé of Pinot Noir ($24)
• Meiomi 2016 Rosé ($25)
• Merry Edwards 2015 Russian River Valley Sauvignon Blanc ($34)
• Ramey 2014 Sonoma Coast Chardonnay ($40)
• Sanford 2015 Chardonnay Santa Rita Hills ($25)
• Smith Madrone 2014 Riesling Napa Valley, Spring Mountain District ($30)
• Tablas Creek 2016 Vermentino ($27)
• Toulouse Rose of Pinot Noir 2015 Estate ($24)